top of page

The Carbon Car Countdown

• New research from Compare the Market Australia looked into which countries are on the road to banning fossil fuel car sales. • Norway has the shortest timeframe, with the country looking to ban sales of new petrol cars in just over two years. • 15 countries, including Australia, the United States of America and South Korea, have yet to make any commitments to banning fossil fuel-based cars.

In the past 136 years, humanity has improved transportation greatly. From Carl Benz’s first prototype of a car in 1886 to today, with hydro and electric-powered vehicles, people are always looking for the next thing that is faster, more reliable and cleaner than its predecessor.

As the automotive industry is moving to more environmentally routes to help combat climate change, Australian car insurance comparison site Compare the Market has investigated which countries are looking to adopt a cleaner car policy in the coming years.

According to the research, the following countries will be banning the sales of fossil fuel cars in the coming years (note that in many cases, hybrid electric vehicles are not included in the ban):

Norway has the most ambitious target of ending fossil fuel-based car sales by 2025 in just two short years. However, they are already making headway with electric car sales already accounting for more than half of all cars sold, and 15% of all passenger cars already being an electric model.

Iceland, Israel, Malaysia and the United Kingdom are also looking to switch out their petrol-based cars for electric soon, with a target of ceasing petrol and diesel car sales by 2030. Thirty-three countries, including Canada, Greece and Sweden, are aiming for a 2035 cessation of new internal combustion passenger cars, while the nations of Singapore, Sri Lanka and Türkiye are looking for a slightly longer timeline by 2040.

Five countries of the 62 investigated are hoping to ban non-electric vehicle sales by 2050, including New Zealand and Indonesia. Brazil stands alone (at this point) with a more long-term target of 2060. Additionally, 15 countries, including Australia, South Korea and the United States of America, have not yet looked at banning the sale of new fossil fuel-based cars on a national level. These are:

• Australia • Ecuador • Egypt • India • Kenya • Kazakhstan • Nepal • Pakistan • Panama • Qatar • South Africa • South Korea • United Arab Emirates • United States of America • Uruguay

While many of these countries have no national policies, there are countries like the United States and Australia, where individual states have started legislating the move away from internal combustion engine passenger cars.

If you’d like to read more into the research on when countries are looking to ban fossil fuel-based cars, please visit here.


bottom of page